About CKLS

The Central Kansas Library System supports library services in 17 counties in Central Kansas: Barton, Cloud, Ellis, Ellsworth, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Osborne, Ottawa Pawnee, Phillips, Republic, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, and Smith counties.

Harry Willems, Director

Executive Committee
President Jan Carlson, Formoso
Vice President Rita Feist, Ellinwood
Treasurer Rose Kelly, Great Bend
Secretary Sharon Segerhammar, Courtland
Board Member  Leslie Brooks, Ellsworth
Board Member Jane Galliart, Wilson
Board Member Jessica McGuire, Russell
Board Member James Agee, Hays
Board Member Dana Randel, Osborne

The mission of the Central Kansas Library System is to help member libraries give their patrons what they want by extending library service to the unserved and improving library service where it already exists.

The goal of the Central Kansas Library System is to respond to needs articulated by member librarians and trustees through specific programs that offer a level of service not affordable in local communities. CKLS pools resources and used modern technology to help local librarians serve their patrons better. CKLS also offers direct services to rural residents and those who need special services because of disability. Anyone living within the System boundaries can get the library materials they want by using the collections of local libraries or by contacting CKLS directly.

  • Cooperating with our colleagues to help all libraries meet the needs of all Kansans.
  • Working together, helping each other at CKLS meet the needs of all our clients.
  • Supporting local libraries, helping them give their patrons what they want when they go the library.
  • Providing direct service to those who cannot go to a library or cannot benefit from regular library services.

The Central Kansas Library System receives most of its funding from a General Mill Levy on rural property (i.e., property not taxed by a city library) in sixteen of seventeen counties in the CKLS region. Pawnee County is a contracting county. The Jordaan Memorial Library in Pawnee County contracts for CKLS services.

CKLS Governance

The CKLS Executive Committee meets monthly in various locations in the CKLS region.

2017 CKLS Executive Committee meeting schedule.

CKLS Executive Committee, terms, and term expiration dates
System Grant Questionnaire
Executive Committee Nomination for Public Libraries
Submissions sent directly to CKLS will be sent to the local library board for its consideration, OR you can take this form to your local library board for their consideration.
Executive Committee Nomination for School Districts

Executive Committee Nomination Form for School Districts (Word Document)

Executive Committee Nomination for Governor’s Appointees
Submit your nomination directly to CKLS.
*You must live in an area not already taxed for library service, and you must be appointed by the Governor to represent the county in which you live. If your county does not have a governor appointee and you qualify, CKLS can submit your name to the Governor for his consideration.
You must be a governor appointee before the CKLS Executive Committee election takes place.
History and Funding

In 1965, acting on the idea of State Librarian of Kansas, LeRoy Fox, to levy a tax on rural property in exchange for providing library services to rural residents, the Kansas Legislature established seven regional systems of cooperating libraries. In 1967, a group of active citizens, who had been working together since the System legislation had been passed, hired the first CKLS Administrator, and the System program was underway. From that time, through successive changes in administration and staff, CKLS has grown and developed, never losing sight of the purposes for which it was created.

The System is like a municipality, as such it has the authority to levy property taxes for the support of the System.  The System tax is levied on property that is not otherwise taxed for the support of a local public library in 16 counties. The board of the Central Kansas Library System consists of 54 members appointed by the boards of local public libraries and 16 members appointed by the governor from the rural areas of the counties that levy the system tax.  This board meets twice a year to conduct the business of the System, to approve the budget, any resolutions, the System Plan, and elect members to the Executive Committee.  The Executive committee meets monthly at various System library locations, to conduct the general business of the System.